爱。开心便当のChildren’s Day Bento

Hohoho…no more spooky bento today as today is a happy day for my son at school.  His school is celebrating Children’s Day this morning.  Therefore, I have decided to make him a bento that is suitable for today’s event.

In Malaysia, Children’s Day is celebrated on the last Saturday of October annually.  Primary school children normally go to school on the Friday before the event to celebrate Children’s Day. The schools that are involved would also organise numerous activities for their pupils.  I still remember that when I was in Primary that time, we love Children’s Day the most! LOL…because we will have lots of free foods and drinks that sponsered by the parents.  At the end of the day, we brought home a big bag of goodies that contained junk food, sweets, chocolate, drinks and even bread and cake too.  Oh…so happy with it, it is a sweet memory for me. 🙂

Okay, back to my son’s Children’s Day bento…hehehe…

I made three inary sushi and decorated them as fishes with imitation crab meat, cucumber and baby carrot individually.  The eyes were from cheese and nori and the caudal fins/tails were cut from carrots using a love shape cutter. 

Other than that, there are some fried chickens, black grapes, cherry tomatoes and broccoli inside the box.  The ‘star’ on top of the broccoli were cut from left over cucumber that I used for the fish.

Hope that my son will have a great time at school and he told me that his class will preform a song during the celebration.  Hope he enjoy it. 🙂

Wishing all of you have a great and joyful day and happy weekend ahead.

16 Responses to 爱。开心便当のChildren’s Day Bento

  1. Angeleyes says:

    so cute the inari fishes!
    My son’s kindy don’t celebrate children and teachers’ day… weird hor?

    • Emily Ng says:

      Thanks so much, Alice. 🙂
      Really weird ler…y hor??? I think most of the kindy and primary do celebrate all these day. Never mind la, you can celebrate with him at home…hehehe.

  2. bobo says:

    Love your Inari Fishes, I love sushi very much. so will steal your ideas when i make some inari in future..:)

    My boy also did not celebrate Children’s day here wor..

    • Emily Ng says:

      Thanks so much, Florene. I like to eat sushi too..but my sons not really, once a while still ok. Haha…sure, no problem, I am happy that you like the idea and use it. 🙂

  3. Lia Chen says:

    Cute fish bento to celebrate Children’s Day! Glad you make the cute one not the spooky one hahaha … 😀 Enjoy your weekend with your family Emily (^.^)

    • Emily Ng says:

      Thank you so much, Lia. Yay…no spooky bento at Children’s day to scare the kids. Children’s day should be a happy and joyful day for them. 🙂

  4. Vanessa says:

    Great idea to decorate inari as fishes…. very creative.

    I have sweet memories on those days Children’s Day too… all children walked to cinema with a big bag off goody bag…..

    • Emily Ng says:

      Thanks so much, Vanessa. 🙂
      We all love Childrens’ day a lot..BTW, my son brought back 2 big goody bags, 1 given by school and 1 given by a parent. He was so happy!!! 🙂

  5. This is so cute and creative! I shall remember this if I need to make something again with inari!

  6. So lovely! Amazing use of inari, love all the colors and fresh good cheer in this wonderful bento!

    • Emily Ng says:

      Thanks so much, Jenn. You are always so sopportive and giving me so many kind comments, really appreciate it. 🙂

  7. anna c says:

    lovely fish inari sushi… i really like the carrot heart-shaped one. cant bear to say yummy! =)

  8. Heather says:

    The fish are amazing!!! I love the detail, they are gorgeous!